What I Don’t Miss About Drinking

The Joy Of No Hangovers Is Just The Start

Gayle Macdonald
10 min readJun 1, 2019

When I realized that I had to quit drinking I had the same thoughts and feelings as we all do, whether we want to stop completely or just cut down it is easy to focus on what we believe the positives of alcohol to be. We then get really cold feet when we look at the alternative and begin to worry about the things we will miss about drinking. Things such as feeling the buzz on a night out, relaxing into that first glass of wine when we get home, using alcohol to loosen us up and be more sociable, using wine to ease stress or anxiety. In reality, alcohol delivers none of what it promises but until we find ourselves in that beautiful place it can be incredibly difficult to understand that there really is nothing to miss.

Today I am fourteen months into my alcohol-free life and I was up early this morning, a little muggy from sleep at first but so awake and feeling fresh. The first thought I had was, ‘God, I don’t miss waking up late feeling like pants anymore’

I want to share with you what I genuinely do not miss about drinking. If you’re still stuck in the mindset that alcohol is fun, relaxing, confidence-boosting and anxiety easing or if you’re having a wobble during your journey to stop drinking, then I hope that by reading this you will discover that alcohol robs us…

--

--

Gayle Macdonald

Gayle is a tea drinking mum of two, life and sobriety coach. Gayle helps women to quit drinking & feel good.. https://sober-bliss.com/